The finding means that the underwater chain stretching from near the southern city of Salerno, in Campania, to Sangineto, in Calabria, now features 15 volcanoes, including eight previously identified.

Nature Communications published a paper on the discovery, which was compiled by the National Institute of Geophysics and Vulcanology (INGV), the National Research Council’s Institute for the Coastal Marine Environment (Iamc-Cnr) and New Zealand’s GNS Science Institute.

The volcanic chain is 90 kilometres long and 20 kilometres wide.