The Ducati rider struggled in qualifications over the weekend, experiencing his worst start on the grid in over two years, to qualify in 13th position.

If someone would have told Dovizioso on race day that he would be leading the championship when he passed the chequered flags, he would have laughed.

Mainly because Marc Marquez is the king of the American track.

Marquez made his maiden MotoGP victory here in 2013 and has won every year since.

However, an unforgiving mistake by Marquez on Lap 12, who had a 3.6-second lead on second place, caused him to crash out of the race and drop from first in the championship to third.

Marquez desperately attempted to re-join the race but could not manage to restart his bike.

It seems qualifying 13th would in fact be a lucky symbol for Dovizioso, who finished in fourth and now leads the championship, followed closely by Valentino Rossi in second position.

The race brought a whole lot of bad luck for the Honda teams.

The American GP is known to be Honda territory and but only one Honda rider finished the race: Takaaki Nakagami.

Dovizioso demonstrated why he is a hot contender to win the championship this year, jumping six positions in the opening lap after gaining a strong start.

Rossi, who started from the front row and was in second position when Marquez crashed, fought with Suzuki rider Alex Rins for first.

The Spaniard managed to zip past Rossi on Lap 4, making for an epic battle until the last corner, when it was ultimately taken out by Rins who celebrated his maiden win in MotoGP.

The podium was shared by Rins, Rossi and Australian rider, Jack Miller in third.

The result places Dovizioso first in the championship with 54 points, Rossi second with 51 points and Marquez third with 49 points.

Catch round four of the MotoGP on Sunday, May 5, 2019, for the Spanish GP.

American GP Race Results

  1. Rins (SPA) - Suzuki Ecstar
  2. Rossi (ITA) - Monster Yamaha
  3. Miller (AUS) - Pramac Ducati
  4. Dovizioso (ITA) - Ducati
  5. Morbidelli (ITA) - Petronas Yamaha
  6. Petrucci (ITA) - Ducati
  7. Quartararo (FRA) - Petronas Yamaha
  8. Espargaro (SPA) - Factory Aprilia Gresini
  9. Bagnaia (ITA) - Pramac Ducati
  10.  Nakagami (JPN) - LCR Honda
  11. Vinales (SPA) - Monster Yamaha
  12. Iannone (ITA) - Factory Aprilia Gresini
  13. Zarco (FRA) - Red Bull KTM Factory
  14. Oliveira (POR) - Red Bull KTM Tech3
  15. Rabat (SPA) - Reale Avintia Ducati
  16. Abraham (CZE) - Reale Avintia Ducati
  17. Mir (SPA) - Suzuki Ecstar
  18. Syahrin (MAL) - Red Bull KTM Tech3


Marquez (SPA) - Repsol Honda
Lorenzo (SPA) - Repsol Honda
Crutchlow (GBR) - LCR Honda
Espargaro (SPA) - Factory Aprilia Gresini